Sixth Symposium on Compositional Structures (SYCO 6)

University of Leicester, UK
16-17 December 2019

The Symposium on Compositional Structures is a regular series of interdisciplinary meetings aiming to support the growing community of researchers interested in the phenomenon of compositionality, from both applied and abstract perspectives, and in particular where category theory serves as a unifying common language. We welcome submissions from researchers across computer science, mathematics, physics, philosophy, and beyond, with the aim of fostering friendly discussion, disseminating new ideas, and spreading knowledge between fields. Submission is encouraged for both mature research and work in progress, and by both established academics and junior researchers, including students.

Submission is easy, with no format requirements or page restrictions. The meeting does not have proceedings, so work can be submitted even if it has been submitted or published elsewhere. You could submit work-in-progress, or a recently completed paper, or even a PhD or Masters thesis.

While no list of topics could be exhaustive, SYCO welcomes submissions with a compositional focus related to any of the following areas, in particular from the perspective of category theory:

This new series aims to bring together the communities behind many previous successful events which have taken place over the last decade, including Categories, Logic and Physics, Categories, Logic and Physics (Scotland), Higher-Dimensional Rewriting and Applications, String Diagrams in Computational, Logic and Physics, Applied Category Theory, Simons Workshop on Compositionality, the Yorkshire and Midlands Category Theory Seminar and the Peripatetic Seminar in Sheaves and Logic.

This event follows SYCO 1 in Birmingham, SYCO 2 in Strathclyde, SYCO 3 in Oxford, SYCO 4 in California, and SYCO 5 in Birmingham.

Invited speakers

PhD recruitment fair

This event will include a poster session advertising PhD opportunities in category theory and related disciplines. If you are interested in advertising PhD opportunities at your institution, please notify the local organizer Simona Paoli at , and come along to the meeting (or send a colleague or student) with a poster advertising your PhD opportunities. We expect significant participation from Masters students and final-year undergraduates who are considering applying for study in this area.

Important dates

All deadlines are 23:59 anywhere-on-earth on the given dates.

  • Submission deadline: Monday 4th November 2019
  • Author notification: Monday 18th November 2019
  • Registration: Monday 9th December 2019
  • Symposium dates: Monday 16 and Tuesday 17 December 2019


To be announced.


To be announced.

Local information

To be announced.


London Mathematical Society.


The intention is for SYCO to be a community meeting, where people have enough time to explain their ideas, and with a friendly and non-competitive atmosphere. To encourage this, in the event that more submissions are received of an acceptable standard than can be accommodated in the timetable, the programme committee may choose to defer some submissions to a future meeting, rather than reject them. This would be done based largely on submission order, giving an incentive for early submission, but would also take into account other requirements, such as ensuring a broad and inclusive scientific programme. Deferred submissions can then be re-submitted to any future SYCO meeting, where they will be prioritised for inclusion in the programme, and where they will not need to be re-reviewed. Meetings are held sufficiently frequently to avoid a backlog of deferred papers.


Submission will be by EasyChair, via the SYCO 6 submission page

Submissions should present research results in sufficient detail to allow them to be properly considered by members of the programme committee, who will assess their interest to the SYCO community. We encourage the submission of work in progress, as well as mature results. There are no proceedings, so work can be submitted even if it has been previously published, or has been submitted for consideration elsewhere. There is no specific formatting requirement, and no page limit, although for long submissions authors should be aware that reviewers will not be able to read the entire document in detail. Think creatively—you could submit a recent paper, draft notes of a project in progress, or even a recent Masters or PhD thesis.

If you have a submission which was deferred from a previous SYCO meeting, it will not automatically be considered for SYCO 6; you still need to submit it again through EasyChair. Such a submission will be prioritised for inclusion in the SYCO 6 programme. When submitting, append the words "DEFERRED FROM SYCO X" to the title of your paper, replacing "X" with the appropriate meeting number. There is no need to attach any documents.

Programme committee

  • Fatimah Ahmadi, University of Oxford
  • Miriam Backens, University of Birmingham
  • Nicolas Behr, Institut de Recherche en Informatique Fondamentale (IRIF)
  • Carmen Maria Constantin, University of Oxford
  • Chris Heunen, University of Edinburgh
  • Dominic Horsman, University of Grenoble
  • Aleks Kissinger, University of Oxford
  • Eliana Lorch, Thiel Fellowship
  • Dan Marsden, University of Oxford (PC Chair)
  • Samuel Mimram, Ecole Polytechnique
  • Koko Muroya, RIMS, Kyoto University & University of Birmingham
  • Simona Paoli, University of Leicester
  • Mehrnoosh Sadrzadeh, University College London
  • Alessio Santamaria, Queen Mary University of London
  • Alexandra Silva, University College London
  • Pawel Sobocinski, Tallinn University of Technology
  • Jamie Vicary, University of Birmingham and University of Oxford
  • Philip Zahn, University of St Gallen
  • Tamara von Glehn

Steering committee

The symposium is managed by the following people. If you have a general question about SYCO, or if you want to propose to host a future version, please get in touch with a member of the steering committee.

Local organizer

Simona Paoli, Roy Crole, Peter Guthmann, Andrew Smith

LMS logo